Experiments in Ontological Relativism

and Other Brain Farts

Beginnings

Posted by Jason on August 4, 2008

So it seems that I have a blog now. Who knew?

I guess I’ve been thinking a lot lately about blogging again, though this time a little differently. I used to have a LiveJournal, but I was never very good at keeping up with it. It was just your general, whiny, “here’s-my-life” blog, with occasional creative snippets. To be honest, it got to be something of a chore to update, and towards the end I only did it to appease my friends rather than because I really wanted to.

This one, though. This is different. This is a creative blog.

I need to write. Need to. It’s burning me up inside, the urge to just create something. If you’ve experienced this feeling, you know what I’m talking about without any explanation. If you haven’t, then no amount of explanation can convey the full experience. You’ll just have to trust me on this one.

I need to hone my writing, since I’ve let those mental muscles fall into disrepair. I haven’t been too successful at making myself sit down and do that, though. So I’m playing a little mental game with myself: if I have readers who are enjoying (or at least not enjoying with reason) my writing, it’ll be a spur to make me write more. So that’s what this blog is. It’s a place for me to post little snippets, exercises, vignettes… Who knows, maybe a complete story or two will eventually emerge.

I hope you’ll come along with me for the ride. But if you don’t, that’s okay: this space is largely just for me anyway. I always love feedback, though, positive or negative. I want to get better, and knowing what you think can help me do that.

So who’s in?

Leave a Reply

 
