Experiments in Ontological Relativism

and Other Brain Farts

Vint Cerf Answers Your Questions (or at least mine)!

Posted by Jason on February 24, 2009

Last week, Google VP and Internet Evangelist (not to mention co-founder of the Internet) Vint Cerf visited my work. He gave a fantastic talk (audio only version here) on the history of the Internet, where it’s going, IPv6, and networks in space (among other things). It was a realy treat to get to see him, and nothing beats getting an Internet history lesson from someone who was actually there.

Before the talk, we were invited to submit questions. Though he didn’t have time to answer them after the talk, he did answer all the submitted questions in an interview afterward. Among those questions was one (entered by yours truly) on DRM, intellectual property, and free speech. It begins at about 13:36, if you want to skip right to it, but I highly recommend listening to all he has to say.

On the subject of IP and DRM, I don’t think I agree with everything he has to say. I do respect, however, that he is at least trying to think outside the traditional paradigms, and acknowledges that the way copyright works now just doesn’t mesh with the Internet. He throws out a couple ideas of the top of his head which I hadn’t heard before, and while I think they may not work, at least they’re new ideas out there for debate.

What do you think?

Quick Links:

  • Vint Cerf talk: Video – Audio
  • Vint Cerf interview/Q&A: VideoAudio (my question starts at 13:36)

(NB: These links are to streaming video/audio. I think they’re publicly available, not just on our intranet. If anyone has trouble with them, let me know and I’ll see if I can capture them and host them somewhere else.)

Leave a Reply

 
